List of Nurse License Compact StatesWhat are the states participating in the nurse compact licensure?

NurseTogether has confirmed that 24 states are part of the compact state nurse licensure (NLC).

Nurse Compact State License

A nurse with a permanent residency in a NLCstate has a multistate nursing license and is eligible to work in other states that make up the "compact states."  Find out more about specific state licensure here.

Compact States

  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Wisconsin


  For the most updated information, visit the National Council of State Board of Nursing.
Updated July 2014

Explore hundreds of travel nursing opportunities in all 50 states!